Operator time limit based on role

In Progress

Comments

5 comments

  • Avatar
    Tim Huskisson

    ryan fechner

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Veronika Nazarova

    Hello Tim Huskisson 

    Apologies for the delay. So you suggest to set session limit for each user individually or based on user's role, correct? Can you share any user stories? How session limit depends on user role in your case?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Tim Huskisson

    Hi Veronika

    Role or user based would not matter.
    My use story is for a current multi-site client, they were upgraded to NX last year, they operate 3 remote sites that are connected via satelite/4G and they need to limit how long people stay remolty connected to each site so that they do not tie up the available bandwidth.
    Their previous solution meant general staff could only connect for 10 minutes and then they were logged out, the admin had 1hr.

    More generally speaking it would be handy across the board, even to be looked at as "limit remote session time" so users when connected remotely were disconnected after minutes.

    Tim

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Veronika Nazarova

    Thanks for clarification, Tim. 

    I'm not sure if it's a good idea to adopt session duration setting for your case, but maybe some kind of session inactivity timeout would work for you? If we call user interaction with the client "user activity" (so pulling video from camera won't be "user activity") and limit the time connection is alive while user is inactive, seems like it may solve your problem.  

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Tim Huskisson

    Hi Veronika

    The inactivity option doesn't work. We tried this already, the client does not want "people watching" happening - IE managers or staff logging into these remote sites and having the connection left open whilst they are doing other things - they want them to be logged out after <x> minutes.

    With the pause video option, as soon as the PC is active or the window is moved, the video reconnects. 
    This is not a deterrent enough to stop people from having the client open all the time as they do not have to go back through the login process again. 

    Tim

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.